Traditional Methodologies

Waterfall Model

Five stages, in reasonably rigid sequence:
  1. Specifications: Identify customer needs; clarify required capabilities
  2. Design: Determining structures, algorithms, classes, use cases
  3. Coding: Translating the design to code
  4. Integration and testing: test pieces separately, then together
  5. Maintenance: debug, adjust, add

Typical Project Allocation

Specifications: 20%    Design: 30%
Coding: 30% Integration/Testing: 20%


created April 29, 2003
last revised May 15, 2003
Valid HTML 4.01! previous   next