Owning the Intangible: Possession, Theft, and (Mis)Appropriation of Ideas

Course Syllabus

Class 1: About This Tutorial [Sunday, 22 August 2010]
We begin our Tutorial with explorations of the purpose of Tutorial, the subjects of Tutorial, and the format of Tutorial. We also begin our planning for registration.

Class 2: Planning Your Schedule [Monday, 23 August 2010]
We conclude our initial considerations of the purposes and form of Tutorial. We consider the purposes of a liberal arts education. We progress further in planning for registration.

Class 3: Planning Your Schedule, Revisited [Tuesday, 24 August 2010]
We continue to consider issues of schedule planning at Grinnell college.

Class 4: IP Basics; Why Write [Thursday, 26 August 2010]
We start to consider the primary topical material for the course. We also begin to explore writing issues.

Class 5: Copyright ; Writing: Correctness [Tuesday, 31 August 2010]
We consider the basics of copyright. We also consider the basics of correct writing.

Class 6: Patent; Writing: Clarity [Thursday, 2 September 2010]

Class 7: Trademark ; Comparing Types of IP ; Writing: Cohesion [Tuesday, 7 September 2010]

Class 8: Citation and Academic Sources ; Writing: Emphasis [Thursday, 9 September 2010]

Class 9: Topic Selection; Group Exercise [Tuesday, 14 September 2010]
We consider the topics you want to explore in depth.

Class 10: Preparing for Discussion ; Writing: Cohesion and Coherence [Thursday, 16 September 2010]
We prepare for the next three weeks of student-led discussions by discussing how and why to discuss (and how to lead discussions). We also begin to consider the beginnings of papers.

Class 11: Using Sources [Tuesday, 21 September 2010]
We reflect about the use and meaning of sources. We also consider related issues of academic honesty.

Class 12: Finding Sources [Thursday, 23 September 2010]
We conduct some hands-on activities that help us build skills for identifying sources pertinent to our work. (Note: SamR will be unavailable, so this session will be led by one of the library faculty.)

Class 13: Writing: Concision, Length, Elegance [Tuesday, 28 September 2010]
We focus on writing issues to have a bit of a pause before the discussions begin.

Class 14: Student-led Discussions (Creative Works) [Thursday, 30 September 2010]
SD, AF, and CT lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 15: Student-led Discussions (What Can Really Be Owned?) [Tuesday, 5 October 2010]
PD, RC, and JC lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 16: Student-led Discussions (Perspectives on Patent) [Thursday, 7 October 2010]
SA, BB, and AC lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 17: Student-led Discussions (The Limits of Speech) [Tuesday, 12 October 2010]
MH, MC, and ME lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 18: Reflections on Discussions [Thursday, 14 October 2010]
We reflect on what went well and what went poorly in the discussion, and what we learned about how one might better discuss subjects.

Fall Break [Saturday, 16 October 2010 to Sunday, 24 October 2010]

Class 19: A Grinnell Education ; Liberal Education ; Dealing with Diversity [Tuesday, 26 October 2010]
In preparation for preregistration, we consider not only some perspectives on liberal education, but also issues of the Grinnell ethos.

Class 20: Preregistration [Thursday, 28 October 2010]
We do some general work in preparing the members of class to preregister for the next semester.

Class 21: Thinking About Presentations and Editing [Tuesday, 2 November 2010]
In preparation for the presentations in weeks 10 and 11, we discuss how one turns a research paper (or a draft thereof) into a public presentation. We also consider why and how to edit each others' research papers.

Class 22: Planning a Patent Policy [Thursday, 4 November 2010]
We begin to consider what tasks are necessary for us to draft a patent policy for the College. We assign tasks to individual members.

Class 23: Presentations (A, B, and C) [Tuesday, 9 November 2010]
Three students present their research to the class and any visitors we may have.

Class 24: Presentations (D, E, and F) ; Policy Status Reports [Thursday, 11 November 2010]
Three students present their research to the class and any visitors we may have.

Class 25: Presentations (G, H, and I) ; Policy Status Reports [Tuesday, 16 November 2010]
Three students present their research to the class and any visitors we may have.

Class 26: Presentations (J, K, and L) ; Policy Status Reports [Thursday, 18 November 2010]
Three students present their research to the class and any visitors we may have.

Class 27: Putting It All Together [Tuesday, 23 November 2010]
We consider how we will start to combine the various student projects into a coherent whole.

Thanksgiving Break [Thursday, 25 November 2010 to Friday, 26 November 2010]

Class 28: Time Management [Tuesday, 30 November 2010]
We consider why and how to manage time at Grinnell (and beyond).

Class 29: Stress Management [Thursday, 2 December 2010]
We consider how one manages the various stresses at Grinnell.

Class 30: Evaluations [Tuesday, 7 December 2010]
We reflect on the latest work for the class (introductions and covers). The students fill out end-of-course evaluations.

Class 31: Debriefing [Thursday, 9 December 2010]
We conclude the class by reflecting collaboratively on what went well, what went poorly, and what changes we might make.

Disclaimer: I usually create these pages on the fly, which means that I rarely proofread them and they may contain bad grammar and incorrect details. It also means that I tend to update them regularly (see the history for more details). Feel free to contact me with any suggestions for changes.

This document was generated by Siteweaver on Sat Oct 23 07:59:20 2010.
The source to the document was last modified on Sat Oct 23 07:59:18 2010.
This document may be found at http://www.cs.grinnell.edu/~rebelsky/Courses/Tutorial/2010F/Handouts/syllabus.html.

You may wish to validate this document's HTML ; Valid CSS! ; Check with Bobby

Copyright © 2005-2010 Samuel A. Rebelsky. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 License. To view a copy of this license, visit or send a letter to Creative Commons, 543 Howard Street, 5th Floor, San Francisco, California, 94105, USA.

Samuel A. Rebelsky, rebelsky@grinnell.edu