FAI: Freedom and Authority on the Internet

Course Syllabus

Class 1: About This Tutorial [Sunday, 26 August 2007]
We begin our Tutorial with explorations of the purpose of Tutorial, the subjects of Tutorial, and the format of Tutorial. We also begin our planning for registration.

Class 2: Planning Your Schedule [Tuesday, 28 August 2007]
We conclude our initial considerations of the purporses and form of Tutorial and progress further in planning for registration.

Class 3: An Early Example / Why Write [Thursday, 30 August 2007]
We start to consider the primary topical material for the course. We also begin to explore writing issues.

Class 4: Some Stories / Your Audience [Tuesday, 4 September 2007]
We ground our study of these topics by considering some stories from two of our primary readings. We also consider the primacy of audience in writing

Class 5: Internet Basics / Making Arguments [Thursday, 6 September 2007]
We continue to ground our studies by looking at some basic Internet technologies and their implications for freedom and authority. We also explore in more depth the claims that provide focus for any good piece of argumentative writing.

Class 6: Government Control of Cyberspace / Supporting Claims [Tuesday, 11 September 2007]
We consider why and how governments are able to control cyberspace

Class 7: Cybercommunities, Revisited / Selecting Topics [Thursday, 13 September 2007]
We return to kinds of cybercommunities and consider a variety of perspectives on those communities

Class 8: Other Perspectives [Tuesday, 18 September 2007]
We conclude our initial studies by examining a few other perspectiveson these topics.

Class 9: Using Sources [Thursday, 20 September 2007]
We reflect about the use and meaning of sources. We also consider related issues of academic honesty.

Class 10: Finding Sources [Tuesday, 25 September 2007]
We conduct some hands-on activities that help us build skills for identifying sources pertinent to our work.

Class 11: Preparing for Discussion / Writing Introductions [Thursday, 27 September 2007]
We prepare for the next three weeks of student-led discussions by discussing how and why to discuss (and how to lead discussions). We also begin to consider the beginnings of papers.

Class 12: Student-led Discussion (A and B) [Tuesday, 2 October 2007]
Two students lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 13: Student-led Discussion (C and D) [Thursday, 4 October 2007]
Two students lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 14: Student-led Discussion (E and F) [Tuesday, 9 October 2007]
Two students lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 15: Student-led Discussion (G and H) [Thursday, 11 October 2007]
Two students lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 16: Student-led Discussion (I and J) [Tuesday, 16 October 2007]
Two students lead discussions of their research topics.

Class 17: Student-led Discussion (K and L) [Thursday, 18 October 2007]
Two students lead discussions of their research topics.

Fall Break [Saturday, 20 October 2007 to Sunday, 28 October 2007]

Class 18: Reflections on Discussions [Tuesday, 30 October 2007]
We reflect on what went well and what went poorly in the discussion, and what we learned about how one might discuss.

Class 19: Presenting Your Work / A Liberal Education [Thursday, 1 November 2007]
In preparation for the presentations in weeks 10 and 11, we discuss how one turns a research paper (or a draft thereof) into a public presentation. In preparation for preregistration, we consider some perspectives on liberal education.

Class 20: Preregistration / Editing [Tuesday, 6 November 2007]
We do some general work in preparing the members of class to preregister for the next semester. We consider why and how to edit each others' research papers.

Class 21: Presentations (A, B, and C) [Thursday, 8 November 2007]
Three students present their research to the class and any visitors we may have.

Class 22: Presentations (D, E, and F) [Tuesday, 13 November 2007]
Three students present their research to the class and any visitors we may have.

Class 23: Presentations (G, H, and I) [Thursday, 15 November 2007]
Three students present their research to the class and any visitors we may have.

Class 24: Presentations (J, K, and L) [Tuesday, 20 November 2007]
Three students present their research to the class and any visitors we may have.

Thanksgiving Break [Thursday, 22 November 2007 to Friday, 23 November 2007]

Class 25: To Be Determined [Tuesday, 27 November 2007]

Class 26: Putting It All Together [Thursday, 29 November 2007]
We consider how we will start to combine the various student projects into a coherent whole.

Class 27: Time Management [Tuesday, 4 December 2007]
We consider why and how to manage time at Grinnell (and beyond).

Class 28: Stress Management [Thursday, 6 December 2007]
We consider

Class 29: Evaluations [Tuesday, 11 December 2007]
We reflect on the latest work for the class (introductions and covers). The students fill out end-of-course evaluations.

Class 30: Debriefing [Thursday, 13 December 2007]
We conclude the class by reflecting collaboratively on what went well, what went poorly, and what changes we might make.

Disclaimer: I usually create these pages on the fly, which means that I rarely proofread them and they may contain bad grammar and incorrect details. It also means that I tend to update them regularly (see the history for more details). Feel free to contact me with any suggestions for changes.

This document was generated by Siteweaver on Mon Aug 16 10:42:08 2010.
The source to the document was last modified on Mon Aug 16 10:42:07 2010.
This document may be found at http://www.cs.grinnell.edu/~rebelsky/Courses/Tutorial/2007F/Handouts/syllabus.html.

You may wish to validate this document's HTML ; Valid CSS! ; Check with Bobby

Copyright © 2007 Samuel A. Rebelsky. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 License. To view a copy of this license, visit or send a letter to Creative Commons, 543 Howard Street, 5th Floor, San Francisco, California, 94105, USA.

Samuel A. Rebelsky, rebelsky@grinnell.edu