Owning Bits

At A Glance

This is an abbreviated course syllabus. Like everything else in this course, it is likely to change.

Weeks: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, break, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14.

Week 0: Preparation
(01) Sunday, 24 August 2003
About This Tutorial
Introductions. What is tutorial? What is IP? The format of our tutorial: meeting format, overall structure, etc. Planning for the next few days. About course planning.
Assignments: Miscellaneous Assignment One: Orientation Sessions (due Tuesday). Miscellaneous Assignment Two: Course Planning (due Tuesday). Reading Assignment One: About College Work (due Thursday). Writing Assignment One: Web Links and IP (due Thursday).
(02) Tuesday, 26 August 2003
Planning Your Schedule
Due: Miscellaneous Homework 1: Orientation. Miscellaneous Homework 2: Course Planning.
(03) Thursday, 28 August 2003
Why Write?
Due: Writing Assignment 1
Week 1: IP Basics
(04) Tuesday, 2 September 2003
Copyright
Causes of Bad Writing. Editing Exercise. Copyright Background: Purposes, Protections. Fair Use: An Exception to Copyright. Copyright Issues in the Internet Age.
Due: Reading Assignment 2: Williams 1. Assignments: Miscellaneous Assignment 3: Course Syllabi (due Thursday). Reading Assignment 3: Williams 2 (Clarity) (due Tuesday).
(05) Thursday, 4 September 2003
Patent
Your research topics. Time management 101. Basics of U.S. Patent Law. Patents in the Information Age.
Assignments: Misc. Assignment 4: Time Logs (due Thursday, 18 September 2003). Misc. Assignment 5: Choose a Topic (due Thursday, 11 September 2003). Due: Writing Assignment 2: Rewrites.
Week 2: Grounding ideas
(06) Tuesday, 9 September 2003
The Power of Sources
Style, Chapter 2: Clarity. Style Exercise 2: Clarity. Lessons from Convocation. Why use sources? Academic honesty basics.
Assignments: Reading Assignment 4: Ethical Use of Sources. Reading Assignment 5: Williams Chapter 3.
(07) Thursday, 11 September 2003
Topic Selection
Alumni Advice: Dealing with Stress. Topic Selection. Convocation Reflections. Finding Sources, Part I.
Assignments: Reading Homework 6: Information Literacy Modules. Miscellaneous Homework 6: Bibliography. Due: Miscellaneous Homework 5: Topic Selection.
Week 3: Other IP Issues
(08) Tuesday, 16 September 2003
Finding Sources (1)
Style: Coherence. About Convocation. Finding Sources. Types of Sources. Using Sources.
Assignments: Reading Assignment 7: Style, Chapter 4, Emphasis. Miscellaneous Assignment 7: Web Journal or Log.
(09) Thursday, 18 September 2003
Trademark and Trade Secret
Discussion of time logs. Planning for coming weeks. Trademark Basics. Trademark and the Information Age.
Due: Miscellaneous Assignment 6: Bibliography. Assignments: Writing Assignment 3: Introduction. Miscellaneous Assignment 8: Papers for Discussion.
Week 4: Miscellaneous
(10) Tuesday, 23 September 2003
Finding Sources (2)
What makes a source authoritative? Useful library resources. Exercise: DVD Editing.
(11) Thursday, 25 September 2003
Preparation for Discussion
Assignments: Reading Assignment 8: Style, Chapters 4 and 5. Writing Assignment 4: Annotated Bibliography. Writing Assignment 5: Discussion Assessment. Due: Writing Assignment 3: Introduction. Miscellaneous Assignment 8: Papers for Discussion.
Week 5: Student-Led Topical Discussions (1)
(12) Tuesday, 30 September 2003
Discussion (Eric and Joe)
(13) Thursday, 2 October 2003
Discussion (Sarah and Jesse)
Week 6: Student-Led Topical Discussions (2)
(14) Tuesday, 7 October 2003
Discussion (Alex and William)
(15) Thursday, 9 October 2003
Discussion (Eryn and Norman)
Due: Writing Assignment 4: Annotated Bibliography.
Week 7: Student-Led Topical Discussions (3)
(16) Tuesday, 14 October 2003
Discussion (Dan and Elizabeth)
(17) Thursday, 16 October 2003
Discussion (Michael and Evan)
Fall Break
Week 8: Oral Skills
(18) Tuesday, 28 October 2003
Reflections on Discussions
Due: Writing Assignment 5: Discussion Self-Assessment. Assignments: Writing Assignment 6: Research Papers.
(19) Thursday, 30 October 2003
Presenting Papers
The Discussion Essays. Presenting Work. Fun Detour: Pirates.
Assignments: Reading Assignment 9: Liberal Education. Miscellaneous Assignment 9: The Diebold Case.
Week 9: Editing
(20) Tuesday, 4 November 2003
Liberal Education
The Diebold Case. Administrivia. The Liberal Arts. Pirates.
Due: Draft of Writing Assignment 5: Research Paper. Assignments: Miscellaneous Assignment 10: Presentations (sliding due date). Miscellaneous Assignment 11: Tentative Schedules (due Thursday). Miscellaneous Assignment 12: Editing Essays (due Thursday).
(21) Thursday, 6 November 2003
Preregistration
Editing Exercise. Scheduling Exercise. Scheduling Discussion.
Week 10: Paper Presentations (1)
(22) Tuesday, 11 November 2003
Presentations (Joe, Jesse, and Dan)
(23) Thursday, 13 November 2003
Presentations (Sarah, Michael, and William)
Due: Writing Assignment 7: Appendices.
Week 11: Paper Presentations (2)
(24) Tuesday, 18 November 2003
Presentations (Elizabeth, Evan, and Norman)
(25) Thursday, 20 November 2003
Presentations (Eric, Eryn and Alex)
Week 12: Writing Introductions
(26) Tuesday, 25 November 2003
Writing Introductions
Assignments: Writing Assignment 8: Introductions. Due: Writing Assignment 6: Research Paper
Week 13: Editing
(27) Tuesday, 2 December 2003
Editing (1)
(28) Thursday, 4 December 2003
Editing (2)
Due: Writing Assignment 8: Introduction to Owning Bits, Vol. 1.
Week 14: Wrapup
(29) Tuesday, 9 December 2003
Evaluation
Due: Assessment of introductions.
(30) Thursday, 11 December 2003
Debriefing
Due: Writing Assignment 9: Rewrites of Research Papers.

 

History

This document is automatically generated from a number of other documents. Hence, I may not always remember to update the history.

Tuesday, 21 August 2003 [Samuel A. Rebelsky]

Saturday, 23 August 2003 [Samuel A. Rebelsky]

Sunday, 24 August 2003 [Samuel A. Rebelsky]

 

Disclaimer: I usually create these pages on the fly, which means that I rarely proofread them and they may contain bad grammar and incorrect details. It also means that I tend to update them regularly (see the history for more details). Feel free to contact me with any suggestions for changes.

This document was generated by Siteweaver on Mon Dec 1 21:19:43 2003.
The source to the document was last modified on Sun Aug 24 10:05:54 2003.
This document may be found at http://www.cs.grinnell.edu/~rebelsky/Courses/Tutorial/2003F/Handouts/glance.html.

You may wish to validate this document's HTML ; Valid CSS! ; Check with Bobby

Samuel A. Rebelsky, rebelsky@grinnell.edu