TEC154 2010S The Evolution of Technology

TEC154 2010S Schedule

This is an approximate schedule for TEC 154 2010S. Like everything else in this course, it is likely to change.

Weeks: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, break, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14.

Week 1: Overview
(01) Monday, January 25, 2010
Introduction to the Course
What is technology? How does one study technology? Course structure. Expectations.
(02) Wednesday, January 27, 2010
What is Technology?
Defining "Technology", Revisited Weinberg: Can Technology Replace Social Engineering? Berry: Why I Am Not Going to Buy a Computer. Florman: Technology and the Tragic View.
(03) Friday, January 29, 2010
Basic Background
Clarification questions. Winner. Marx. Pool. Linking these ideas.
Week 2: Stone Tools (Whittaker, Anthropology)
(04) Monday, February 1, 2010
Stone Tools (1)
(05) Wednesday, February 3, 2010
Stone Tools (2)
(06) Friday, February 5, 2010
Stone Tools (Discussion)
Wrapup of Whittaker. Review of perspectives. Applying perspectives to flintlocks.
Week 3: An Engineering Perspective
(07) Monday, February 8, 2010
Engineering (1)
Background about Petroski. Small group work. Overview of the text. Clarifications. Discussion.
(08) Wednesday, February 10, 2010
Engineering (2)
Large group: Introductory remarks. Small groups: Topics of chapters 8-13. Large group: Review of chapter topics. Small groups: Think like an engineer. Large group: Summary of discussions.
(09) Friday, February 12, 2010
Engineering (3)
Review of stuff covered so far. Some factual questions. Chapter summaries, continued. The Petroski lens. Discussion questions (if time permits).
Week 4: The Development of Writing (Lalonde, Classics)
(10) Monday, February 15, 2010
The Development of Writing (1)
(11) Wednesday, February 17, 2010
The Development of Writing (2)
(12) Friday, February 19, 2010
The Development of Writing (Discussion)
Large Group: Lenses from Lalonde. Small Group: Previous Lenses, Revisited. Large Group (Recitation): Applying Lenses to The Evolution of Writing.
Week 5: Other Perspectives
(13) Monday, February 22, 2010
Perspectives (1) Notes:
  • Mesthene overview: Thesis, Argumentative Structure.
  • Mesthene clarifications.
  • Mesthene in the 21st century.
  • McDermott's basics.
(14) Wednesday, February 24, 2010
Perspectives (2)
Clarifications. Main Points (Small Groups). Main Points, Revisited. Lenses. Open Discussion.
(15) Friday, February 26, 2010
Perspectives (3)
Questions on the readings (small groups). Reflection on small-group discussion (large group).
Week 6: Musical Instruments and Notation (Vetter, Music)
(16) Monday, March 1, 2010
Instruments
(17) Wednesday, March 3, 2010
Notation
The Quest to Encode Sound. Orally Transmitted Music. Notation. Recording Technologies.
(18) Friday, March 5, 2010
Musical Instruments and Notation (Discussion)
Design notation. Share notation. Perform.
Week 7: Midsemester Exam
(19) Monday, March 8, 2010
Where We've Been, Where We're Going
Quick summary: Where we've been. Quick summary: Where we're going. Exam format. Planning: What questions on the readings did you find particularly good? Exam questions.
(20) Wednesday, March 10, 2010
Mid-semester Exam, Part One
(21) Friday, March 12, 2010
Mid-semester Exam, Part Two
Week 8: Human Factors in Technology
(22) Monday, March 15, 2010
Human Factors (1)
Exercise: The User Interface of the Book. Norman's Four Principles. Norman's Theses. Open Discussion.
(23) Wednesday, March 17, 2010
Human Factors (2)
Exercise: Examples. Norman's thesis and the role of each chapter. Design in everyday activities. Who is at fault?
(24) Friday, March 19, 2010
Human Factors (3)
A Challenge: Summarize and Exemplify Norman. Reference.
Spring Break
Week 9: Miscellaneous
(25) Monday, April 5, 2010
Pause for Breath
(26) Wednesday, April 7, 2010
Disability and Technology
Background. Basics. Beyond.
(27) Friday, April 9, 2010
Digital Art (Kluber and Simon)
Short presentation by Kluber and Simon. Time to view the show. Q & A time.
Week 10: Structures (Case, Physics)
(28) Monday, April 12, 2010
Structures (1)
(29) Wednesday, April 14, 2010
Structures (2)
(30) Friday, April 16, 2010
Structures Exercise
An Exercise. Awards.
Week 11: Biotechnology (Robertson, Biology)
(31) Monday, April 19, 2010
Biotechnology (1)
(32) Wednesday, April 21, 2010
Biotechnology (2)
(33) Friday, April 23, 2010
Feminist Perspectives
What is a feminist approach? How do the authors define technology? What are the authors' primary theses? Open discussion.
Week 12: Solar Energy (Swartz, Chemistry)
(34) Monday, April 26, 2010
Solar Energy (1)
Traditional Ways to Produce Electricity. Producing Electricity from the Sun. Photovoltaics: History. Photovoltaics: Technology.
(35) Wednesday, April 28, 2010
Solary Energy (2)
(36) Friday, April 30, 2010
Solar Energy (Discussion)
Goals of paper reviews. Questions on Photovoltaics. Lessons from Swartz. Relating readings: What's relevant?
Week 13: Computing (Rebelsky, Computer Science)
(37) Monday, May 3, 2010
Computing (1)
What is a computer? The structure of a computer. An evolution of technologies. An evolution of applications. Misc. discussion.
(38) Wednesday, May 5, 2010
Pause for Breath
(39) Friday, May 7, 2010
Wrapup
Week 14: Student Presentations
(40) Monday, May 10, 2010

Evolution of Computing, Continued. The World-Wide Web. Hypertext.
(41) Wednesday, May 12, 2010
Presentations (1)
(42) Friday, May 14, 2010
Presentations (2)

Disclaimer: I usually create these pages on the fly, which means that I rarely proofread them and they may contain bad grammar and incorrect details. It also means that I tend to update them regularly (see the history for more details). Feel free to contact me with any suggestions for changes.

This document was generated by Siteweaver on Thu May 6 18:08:16 2010.
The source to the document was last modified on Mon Jan 25 06:11:12 2010.
This document may be found at http://www.cs.grinnell.edu/~rebelsky/Courses/TEC154/2010S/Handouts/schedule.html.

You may wish to validate this document's HTML ; Valid CSS! ; Creative Commons License

Samuel A. Rebelsky, rebelsky@grinnell.edu

Copyright © 2010 Samuel A. Rebelsky. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 License. To view a copy of this license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/ or send a letter to Creative Commons, 543 Howard Street, 5th Floor, San Francisco, California, 94105, USA.