Computer Science Fundamentals (CS153 2004S)

CS153 2004S At A Glance

This is an abbreviated course syllabus. Like everything else in this course, it is likely to change.

Weeks: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, break, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14.

Week 1: Starting Scheme
Martin Luther King day (01) Wednesday, 21 January 2004
Introduction to The Course
Definitions: Computer science, computer programming, computing, ialgorithm, and more. Course basics. Administrative issues. Getting started with the ECA.
Assignments: Scan through the course front door and the various administrative handouts. Fill out the introductory survey (to be distributed via e-mail). Read Starting Scheme.
(02) Thursday, 22 January 2004
Starting Scheme
About Scheme Lab: The DrScheme Programming Environment. Lab: Starting Scheme.
Assignments: Read Symbolic Values in Scheme. Read Lists in Scheme. Read Numbers in Scheme.
(03) Friday, 23 January 2004
Basic Types: Symbols, Lists, and Numbers
Overview of Types Symbols Lists Numbers Lab on Types
Assignments: Read Procedures in Scheme (due Mon). Do Homework 1: Lab Writeup: Types (due Wed).
Week 2: Control Structures
(04) Monday, 26 January 2004
Procedures
Why define your own procedures? How to define your own procedures. Lab on user-defined procedures.
Assignments: Read Conditional evaluation in Scheme. Read Boolean values in Scheme.
(05) Wednesday, 28 January 2004
Conditionals
A problem: Turning numbers into letters (in English and Scheme). Making life easier: Conditionals. What kinds of tests can you use in conditionals?
Due: Homework 1: Lab Writeup: Types. Assignments: Read Repetition with recursion.
(06) Thursday, 29 January 2004
Recursion with Lists
Recursion basics. Patterns of recursive functions over lists. Lab: Repetition with Recursion.
Assignments: Read Numeric Recursion. Homework 2: Type-Checking.
(07) Friday, 30 January 2004
Numeric Recursion
Introduction to numeric recursion. Lab.
Assignments: Read Naming Values with Local Bindings.
Week 3: Procedures, Revisited
(08) Monday, 2 February 2004
Local Bindings
Why name things. Naming things with let. Naming things with let*. Naming non-recursive procedures. Lab: Local Bindings with let.
Assignments: Read Preconditions and Postconditions.
(09) Wednesday, 4 February 2004
Preconditions and Postconditions
The need for documentation. Verifying preconditions. An example: Sum of squares. Husk and Kernel programming. Other uses of Husk and Kernel. Lab.
Due: Homework 2. Assignments: Read Local Procedure Bindings with letrec.
(10) Thursday, 5 February 2004
Local Procedures
Lab.
(11) Friday, 6 February 2004
Variable-Arity Procedures
Lab.
Assignments: Do Homework 3. Read Characters in Scheme. Read Strings in Scheme.
Week 4: Compound Structures
(12) Monday, 9 February 2004
Strings
Short introduction to strings. Lab: Characters and Strings.
Assignments: Read Pairs and Pair Structures. Begin Exam 1.
(13) Wednesday, 11 February 2004
Pause for Breath
Question: Summing Random Numbers. On the relationship between modulo and remainder. On the various real to integer conversion procedures.
Due: Homework 3.
(14) Thursday, 12 February 2004
Pairs and Pair Structures
Behind the scences in Scheme: Memory. Pairs and Cons cells. Dotted pairs. Lab.
Assignments: Read Vectors.
(15) Friday, 13 February 2004
Vectors
Problems with lists. A solution: Vectors. Side note: The begin construct. Lab.
Assignments: Read Higher-Order Procedures (1). (Here's where Scheme gets really cool.)
Week 5: Higher-Order Procedures and More
(16) Monday, 16 February 2004
Higher-Order Procedures (1)
Design patterns, revisited. Key ideas of higher-order procedures. Lab.
Assignments: Read Higher-Order Procedures (2).
(17) Wednesday, 18 February 2004
Higher-Order Procedures (2)
Operator sections. Rethinking procedure definitions. Questions on readings. Lab.
Due: Exam 1. Assignments: Homework 4: Higher-Order Vector Procedures.
(18) Thursday, 19 February 2004
Higher-Order Procedures (3)
Lab (1), Continued. Lab (2), Continued. Reflection.
(19) Friday, 20 February 2004
Tail Recursion
Kinds of recursion. Why do tail recursion. How to do tail recursion. Generating lists tail-recursively. Lab.
Assignments: Read Tail Recursion.
Week 6: Algorithms
(20) Monday, 23 February 2004
Algorithm Analysis (1)
Comparing Algorithms. Asymptotic Analysis. Eliminating Constants. Asymptotic Analysis in Practice. The Role of Details.
(21) Wednesday, 25 February 2004
Algorithm Analysis (2)
Big O notation, revisited. Doing Big-O Analysis. Dominant terms. Big-O Analysis of Recursive Procedures. Experimental analysis.
Due: Homework 4. Assignments: Read Searching.
(22) Thursday, 26 February 2004
Searching
Algorithms for common problems. A key problem: Searching. Sequential Search. Binary Search. Lab.
Assignments: Read Sorting.
(23) Friday, 27 February 2004
Sorting
The problem of sorting. Writing sorting algorithms. Examples: Insertion sort, Selection sort. Continue Searching lab.
Assignments: Read Merge Sort. Read Quicksort.
Week 7: Introduction to Java
(24) Monday, 1 March 2004
Comparing Sorting Algorithms
O(n2) sorting algorithms. Random detours.
(25) Wednesday, 3 March 2004
Detour: Miscellaneous Scheme Stuff
Equality predicates. Continuations.
Assignments: Exam 2: Algorithms and Higher-Order Procedures. Read Randomness and simulation.
(26) Thursday, 4 March 2004
Discussion of Exam 1
(27) Friday, 5 March 2004
Fast Sorting Algorithms
Merge sort. Quicksort. Lab.
Assignments: Read Experiments in Java, Chapter J1: An Introduction to Java.
Week 8: More Java Basics
(28) Monday, 8 March 2004
Getting Started with Object-Oriented Programming
An introduction to object-oriented programming.
(29) Wednesday, 10 March 2004
Getting Started with Java
About Java. Your first Java program. Java in the MathLAN. Lab.
Due: Exam 2.
(30) Thursday, 11 March 2004
Discussion of Exam 2
Cloning. Less-Than?. Sectioning.
(31) Friday, 12 March 2004
Objects, Methods, and Classes
Building Classes. The Problem: A RationalClass. Overview of a Class Declaration. Fields, Methods, and Constructors. Different Class Uses. Some Design Issues.
Spring Break
Week 9:
(32) Monday, 29 March 2004
Conditionals
Review. Boolean expressions in Java. Basic conditionals: the if statement. Other conditionals: the switch statement. Lab.
Assignments: Read Lab J5: Loops.
(33) Wednesday, 31 March 2004
Loops
Iterative Repetition. While Loops. Do Loops. For Loops. Lab (J5.1 and J5.3).
Assignments: Read X3: Input, output, files, and exceptions. Focus on the exceptions issues.
(34) Thursday, 1 April 2004
When Things Go Wrong
Problems in Programs. Techniques for Handling Errors. Exceptions: Java's Primary Error-Handling Technique. Dealing with Procedures that Throw Exceptions. Optionally-Catchable Exceptions. Throwing Exceptions. Defining Exceptions.
Assignments: Start homework 5.
(35) Friday, 2 April 2004
Building a Rational Class, Revisited
Review: Java. Review: Rational.java. Computing gcds. Arithmetic operations. Testing. Constructors.
Week 10: Lists
(36) Monday, 5 April 2004
Arrays
Introduction to Arrays. Arrays in Java. An Application: Fibonacci Numbers. An Application: Box Packing.
Assignments: Read O1: Object-Oriented Design.
(37) Wednesday, 7 April 2004
Designing Objects
Introduction to Object-Oriented Design. Why do Object-Oriented Design. Protection. Some basic strategies. Reuse. A group exercise.
Assignments: Read EIJ, Lab O2.
(38) Thursday, 8 April 2004
Inheritance
Reuse. Inheritance. Inheritance in Java. Special issue: Constructors. Special issue: Interfaces. Special issue: Abstract Classes. Lab.
Assignments: Read EIJ, Chapter O3. Begin Homework 5.
(39) Friday, 9 April 2004
Polymorphism
Quick review of inheritance. Quick review of polymorphism. Lab: Polymorphism.
Week 11: Other Linear Structures
(40) Monday, 12 April 2004
Introduction to Abstract Data Types and Data Structures
Organizing Data. Example: Arrays. Collections.
Assignments: Read the section on lists in the data structures book distributed to you. Summarize the methods associate with the list ADT.
(41) Wednesday, 14 April 2004
Scheme Lists
Scheme lists as ADT. Implementing Scheme lists.
Due:Homework 6. Assignments: Exam 3.
(42) Thursday, 15 April 2004
List ADT Design
What else is a list? A SimpleList ADT. An OrderedList ADT. An SortedList ADT. The java.util perspective.
(43) Friday, 16 April 2004
Implementing Lists with Arrays
Implementation: Using Arrays. Strategies for various methods. Running time. Determining if a position is valid.
Assignments: Read Lists with "Current" Considered Harmful by Joseph Bergin.
Week 12: Miscellaneous
(44) Monday, 19 April 2004
Yet Another Detour
(45) Wednesday, 21 April 2004
Determining Position Validity
Due: Exam 3.
(46) Thursday, 22 April 2004
Implementing Lists with Nodes
Detour: Implementing isValid. Implementing Lists with Nodes. Basic Methods. Implementing Ordered Lists. Variants.
(47) Friday, 23 April 2004
Linear Structures
About linear structures. Stacks. Queues. Priority Queues. Implementation notes.
Assignments: Homework 7: Task Lists.
Week 13: Dictionaries
(48) Monday, 26 April 2004
Detour: Serialization
Why serialize objects. How to serialize objects. Other introspection issues.
(49) Wednesday, 28 April 2004
Cancelled
(50) Thursday, 29 April 2004
Priority Queues, Heaps, and Heap Sort
Priority Queues. Simple Implementations. Trees. Heaps.
Due: Homework 7. Assignments: Homework 8: Sorting.
(51) Friday, 30 April 2004
The Dictionary ADT
Introduction to the Dictionary ADT Methods. Applications. Dictionaries vs. Databases. Implementation: Association Lists (and variants). Implementation: Binary Search Trees.
Week 14:
(52) Monday, 3 May 2004
Implementing Dictionaries with Hash Tables
The Idea of Hashing. Hash Functions. Hashing in Java. Handling Hashing Conflicts.
(53) Wednesday, 5 May 2004
Implementing Dictionaries with Binary Search Trees
An ADT for binary search. Implementing that ADT with arrays. Binary search trees. BSTs and dictionaries.
(54) Thursday, 6 May 2004
Discussion of Exam 3
Problem 1: Erroneous Code. Problem 2: Orders. Problem 3: Dynamic Arrays. Problem 4: Selection Sort.
(55) Friday, 7 May 2004
Evaluation
Evaluation. The subject matter. Final thoughts.

 

History

This document is automatically generated from a number of other documents. Hence, I may not always remember to update the history.

Friday, 12 January 2001 [Samuel A. Rebelsky]

Tuesday, 7 Janaury 2003 [Samuel A. Rebelsky]

Tuesday, 14 January 2003 [Samuel A. Rebelsky]

 

Disclaimer: I usually create these pages on the fly, which means that I rarely proofread them and they may contain bad grammar and incorrect details. It also means that I tend to update them regularly (see the history for more details). Feel free to contact me with any suggestions for changes.

This document was generated by Siteweaver on Fri May 7 09:54:49 2004.
The source to the document was last modified on Tue Jan 13 10:38:16 2004.
This document may be found at http://www.cs.grinnell.edu/~rebelsky/Courses/CS153/2004S/Handouts/glance.html.

You may wish to validate this document's HTML ; Valid CSS! ; Check with Bobby

Samuel A. Rebelsky, rebelsky@grinnell.edu