Computer Networks (CSC-364 2000S)


CSC364 At A Glance

Week 01: Background
Reading: Peterson and Davie, Chapter 1
Monday, January 24, 2000
Introduction to the Course
Wednesday, January 26, 2000
Requirements and Network Architecture
Friday, January 28, 2000
Network Building Blocks
Week 02: C Programming
Reading: K&R
Monday, January 31, 2000
The Basics
Wednesday, February 2, 2000
Header Files and the Preprocessor
Friday, February 4, 2000
Pointers
Week 03: C Programming, Continued
Reading: K&R
Monday, February 7, 2000
Formatted I/O
Wednesday, February 9, 2000
Structs and Arrays
Friday, February 11, 2000
Memory Management
Week 04: Direct-Link Networks
Reading: Peterson and Davie, Chapter 2
Monday, February 14, 2000
Framing
Wednesday, February 16, 2000
Error Detection
Friday, February 18, 2000
Common Structures
Week 05: Packet Switching
Reading: Peterson and Davie, Chapter 3
Monday, February 21, 2000
Switching and Forwarding
Wednesday, February 23, 2000
Bridges and Switches
Friday, February 25, 2000
ATM
Week 06: Internetworking
Reading: Peterson and Davie, Chapter 4
Monday, February 28, 2000
IP
Wednesday, March 1, 2000
Routing
Friday, March 3, 2000
Multicast
Week 07: Pause for Breath
Reading: None
Monday, March 6, 2000
Review for Exam
Wednesday, March 8, 2000
Examination
Friday, March 10, 2000
Special Topic
Week 08: End-To-End Protocols
Reading: Peterson and Davie, Chapter 5
Monday, March 13, 2000
TCP
Wednesday, March 15, 2000
TCP, Revisited
Friday, March 17, 2000
RPC
Break
Week 09: Programming Unix Sockets
Reading: Stevens, Parts 1 and 2
Monday, April 3, 2000
Socket Basics
Wednesday, April 5, 2000
Simple Client/Server Pairs
Friday, April 7, 2000
Handling Multiple Clients
Week 10: Advanced Unix Sockets
Reading: Stevens, Part 3
Monday, April 10, 2000
Nonblocking I/O
Wednesday, April 12, 2000
Broadcasting and Multicasting
Friday, April 14, 2000
Signals and Threads
Week 11: Allocating Resources
Reading: Peterson and Davie, Chapter 6
Monday, April 17, 2000
Sharing Resources
Wednesday, April 19, 2000
Congestion Control
Friday, April 21, 2000
Quality of Service
Week 12: Network Security
Reading: Peterson and Davie, Chapter 8
Monday, April 24, 2000
Cryptographic Algorithms
Wednesday, April 26, 2000
Security Mechanisms
Friday, April 28, 2000
Firewalls
Week 13: Internet Protocols
Reading: Peterson and Davie, Chapter 9
Monday, May 1, 2000
Domain Name Service
Wednesday, May 3, 2000
FTP
Friday, May 5, 2000
Mail Protocols
Week 14: Wrapup
Reading: None
Monday, May 8, 2000
HTTP
Wednesday, May 10, 2000
Course Evaluation
Friday, May 12, 2000
Wrapup

Disclaimer Often, these pages were created "on the fly" with little, if any, proofreading. Any or all of the information on the pages may be incorrect. Please contact me if you notice errors.

This page may be found at http://www.math.grin.edu/~rebelsky/Courses/CS364/2000S/Handouts/glance.html

Source text last modified Thu Jan 20 21:37:34 2000.

This page generated on Thu Jan 20 22:34:47 2000 by Siteweaver. Validate this page's HTML.

Contact our webmaster at rebelsky@grinnell.edu