Fundamentals of Computer Science II (CSC-152 2000S)


CSC152 At A Glance

This is an abbreviated version of the course syllabus. Like the syllabus, it is likely to change.


Due: HW1: Lab J2
Week 1: Introduction
Reading: JPDS, Chapter 1
Monday, January 24, 2000
Introduction to the Course
Tuesday, January 25, 2000
Introduction to Java
Due: Intro Survey
Wednesday, January 26, 2000
Lab: Getting Started with Java
Friday, January 28, 2000
Lab: Objects and Methods
Week 2: Object Basics
Reading: JPDS, Sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.4
Monday, January 31, 2000
Lab: Objects and Methods, Continued
Tuesday, February 1, 2000
Lab: Objects and Classes
Wednesday, February 2, 2000
Lab: Objects and Classes, Revisited
Friday, February 4, 2000
Object-Oriented Design
Week 3: Java Fundamentals
Monday, February 7, 2000
Reuse Through Inheritance and Polymorphism
Due: Project 1: Stories
Tuesday, February 8, 2000
Lab: Conditionals
Due: HW2: StudentInfo Class
Wednesday, February 9, 2000
Lab: Loops
Friday, February 11, 2000
When Things Go Wrong
Week 4: Building Graphical Programs
Monday, February 14, 2000
Project Design
Tuesday, February 15, 2000
Lab: Java's Abstract Windowing Toolkit
Wednesday, February 16, 2000
Discussion of Homework 2
Friday, February 18, 2000
Java's AWT, Revisited
Due: Exam 1: Java
Week 5: Algorithms and Recursion
Reading: JPDS, Section 5.5, Chapter 6
Monday, February 21, 2000
Growing a Language
Tuesday, February 22, 2000
Growing a Language
Wednesday, February 23, 2000
Algorithm Analysis
Due: HW4: Graphical Database
Friday, February 25, 2000
Lab: Recursion
Due: Project 2: Specifications
Week 6: Miscellaneous
Reading: JPDS, Chapter 11
Monday, February 28, 2000
Algorithm Analysis, Revisited
Tuesday, February 29, 2000
Analyzing Recursive Algorithms
Wednesday, March 1, 2000
Arrays
Due: HW5: Algorithm Analysis
Friday, March 3, 2000
Project Discussion: Specifications
Due: Project 3: Revised Specifications
Week 7: Sorting Algorithms
Reading: JPDS, Chapter 2 (2.3, Case Study)
Monday, March 6, 2000
Introduction to Sorting
Tuesday, March 7, 2000
Some Sorting Algorithms
Wednesday, March 8, 2000
More Efficient Sorting Algorithms
Due: HW6: Quicksort
Friday, March 10, 2000
Discussion of Assignment 3
Week 8: Lists
Reading, JPDS, Chapters 4, 5, 7
Monday, March 13, 2000
Introduction to Data Structures
Due: Project 4: Interfaces and Stubs
Tuesday, March 14, 2000
Introduction to Lists
Wednesday, March 15, 2000
Implementing Lists with Arrays
Friday, March 17, 2000
Lab: Animation
Due: Exam 2: Algorithms
Break
Week 9: Linked Lists
Reading: JPDS, Chapter 8
Monday, April 3, 2000
Discussion of Exam 2
Tuesday, April 4, 2000
Linked Lists
Wednesday, April 5, 2000
Adding Elements to Linked Lists
Due: HW7: Critique of List Design
Friday, April 7, 2000
Linked Lists, Concluded
Week 10: Linear Structures
Reading: JPDS, Chapter 9
Monday, April 10, 2000
Introduction to Linear Structures
Due: Project 5: Draft Implementation
Tuesday, April 11, 2000
Implementing Stacks and Queues
Wednesday, April 12, 2000
Priority Queues, Heaps, and Heap Sort
Friday, April 14, 2000
Automated Problem Solving with Linear Structures
Week 11: Dictionaries
Reading: JPDS, Chapter 10
Monday, April 17, 2000
Dictionaries
Due: Project 6: Working subprojects
Tuesday, April 18, 2000
Binary Search Trees
Wednesday, April 19, 2000
Hash Tables
Friday, April 21, 2000
Project Discussion
Week 12: Trees
Monday, April 24, 2000
Introduction to Trees
Due: Project 7: Descriptions
Tuesday, April 25, 2000
Implementing Trees
Wednesday, April 26, 2000
Lab: Traversing and Iterating Trees
Friday, April 28, 2000
Integration Discussion
Week 13: Graphs
Monday, May 1, 2000
Project Discussion: Preparation for Presentation
Due: Project 8: Completed
Tuesday, May 2, 2000
Reflection on Project
Wednesday, May 3, 2000
Introduction Graphs
Friday, May 5, 2000
The Shortest Path Problem
Due: Exam 3: Data Structures
Week 14: Wrapup
Monday, May 8, 2000
Graphs, Concluded
Tuesday, May 9, 2000
What is Computer Science? Revisited
Wednesday, May 10, 2000
Course Summary and Evaluation
Friday, May 12, 2000
An Abbreviated History of Computer Science
Due: Course Evaluation

Disclaimer Often, these pages were created "on the fly" with little, if any, proofreading. Any or all of the information on the pages may be incorrect. Please contact me if you notice errors.

This page may be found at http://www.math.grin.edu/~rebelsky/Courses/CS152/2000S/Handouts/glance.html

Source text last modified Wed Feb 9 10:46:54 2000.

This page generated on Fri May 5 09:49:18 2000 by Siteweaver. Validate this page's HTML.

Contact our webmaster at rebelsky@grinnell.edu