Iowa Collegiate Mathematics Competition, 1999

The event

The fifth annual Iowa Collegiate Mathematics Competition was held at Grinnell College on Saturday, March 13, 1999. A total of twenty-three teams of two or three students each worked on a collection of ten problems for three hours, submitting written solutions.

Grinnell College fielded eight teams:


The results were announced at the April 1999 meeting of the Iowa Section of the Mathematical Association of America. Up to ten points were awarded for each problem.

The competition was won by the team of Tim Andrews, Michael Cooper, and Zorka Milin. Their solutions received 90 points.

The team of Oleksiy Andriychenko, Dmitry Krivin, and Wanlin Liu earned 80 points and placed second in the competition.

The team of Andrea Gelatt, Emily Resseger, and Kyle Robertson earned 76 points and placed third.

The team of Wyatt Gaswick, Roft Peterson, and Dan Willms earned 70 points and placed sixth.

The team of Chris Kaiserlian, Catherine Williams, and Anne Wilson earned 68 points and placed seventh.

The team of Alex Ford, Noah Hofmann-Smith, and Morgan Page earned 54 points and placed ninth.

Despite being short-handed, the team of Rochelle Gondour and Andrew Kensler earned 46 points and placed thirteenth.

The team of Shiva Kabra, Shekhar Shah, and Nikhil Sohonie earned 38 points and tied for sixteenth place.

This document is available on the World Wide Web as