Putnam Mathematical Competition, 2006

Results of previous Putnam Competitions
The 2005 Putnam Competition
The 2004 Putnam Competition
The 2003 Putnam Competition
The 2002 Putnam Competition
The 2001 Putnam Competition
The 2000 Putnam Competition
The 1999 Putnam Competition
The 1998 Putnam Competition
The 1997 Putnam Competition
The 1996 Putnam Competition
The 1995 Putnam Competition

The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition is an annual event, sponsored by the Mathematical Association of America, in which undergraduate students at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada are asked to solve difficult problems in mathematics.

The sixty-seventh Putnam Competition was held on Saturday, December 2, 2006. It consisted of two examinations, each comprising six problems. Examination A was given in the morning, Examination B in the afternoon. Students were given three hours for each examination and could attempt any or all of the six problems.

Thirteen Grinnell undergraduates competed this year: Brianne Benness 2008, William Boney 2008, Jon Cline 2008, Victor Colussi 2009, Anne Eaton 2008, Vicki Foss 2008, Katrina Honigs 2008, Rolf Hoyer 2008, Matthew Johnson 2008, Chayapan Khannabha 2008, Ian Orr 2008, Norman Perlmutter 2007, and Russ Waller 2007. Hoyer, Honigs, and Boney made up our institutional team.


The Grinnell team ranked 41st among the 508 institutional teams. Hoyer was individually cited in the MAA summary, ranking 106th among the 3640 contestants.

This document is available on the World Wide Web as