Putnam Mathematical Competition, 2005

Results of previous Putnam Competitions
The 2004 Putnam Competition
The 2003 Putnam Competition
The 2002 Putnam Competition
The 2001 Putnam Competition
The 2000 Putnam Competition
The 1999 Putnam Competition
The 1998 Putnam Competition
The 1997 Putnam Competition
The 1996 Putnam Competition
The 1995 Putnam Competition

The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition is an annual event, sponsored by the Mathematical Association of America, in which undergraduate students at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada are asked to solve difficult problems in mathematics.

The sixty-sixth Putnam Competition was held on Saturday, December 3, 2005. It consisted of two examinations, each comprising six problems. Examination A was given in the morning, Examination B in the afternoon. Students were given three hours for each examination and could attempt any or all of the six problems.

Eighteen Grinnell undergraduates competed this year: Doug Babcock 2006, William Boney 2008, John Bowers 2006, Jacquelyn Burchfield 2006, Jon Cline 2008, Vicki Foss 2008, Katrina Honigs 2008, Rolf Hoyer 2008, Matthew Johnson 2008, Shobha Kazinka 2006, Christopher LeBailly 2008, Emily Levenberg 2007, Christopher Lubinski 2009, Avram Lyon 2006, Ian Orr 2008, Norman Perlmutter 2007, Kaitlyn Ryan 2007, and Trevor Sedberry 2007. Babcock, Perlmutter, and Hoyer made up our institutional team.


The Grinnell team ranked 106th among the 500 institutional teams. Hoyer was individually cited in the MAA summary, ranking 149th among the 3545 contestants.

This document is available on the World Wide Web as