Putnam Mathematical Competition, 2004

Results of previous Putnam Competitions
The 2003 Putnam Competition
The 2002 Putnam Competition
The 2001 Putnam Competition
The 2000 Putnam Competition
The 1999 Putnam Competition
The 1998 Putnam Competition
The 1997 Putnam Competition
The 1996 Putnam Competition
The 1995 Putnam Competition

The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition is an annual event, sponsored by the Mathematical Association of America, in which undergraduate students at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada are asked to solve difficult problems in mathematics.

The sixty-fifth Putnam Competition was held on Saturday, December 4, 2004. It consisted of two examinations, each comprising six problems. Examination A was given in the morning, Examination B in the afternoon. Students were given three hours for each examination and could attempt any or all of the six problems.

Eighteen Grinnell undergraduates competed this year: Doug Babcock 2006, William Boney 2008, John Bowers 2006, Jacquelyn Burchfield 2006, Patrick Busch 2008, Samuel Eckstut 2005, Arjun Guha 2006, Katrina Honigs 2008, Rolf Hoyer 2008, Matthew Johnson 2008, Kate Kearney 2005, Christine Oehlert 2005, Jonathan Ohliger 2007, Norman Perlmutter 2007, Thomas Peter 2006, Seung-Mae Seo 2008, Garth Spencer 2006, and Zelealem Yilma 2005. Babcock, Oehlert, and Perlmutter made up our institutional team.


The Grinnell team ranked 62nd among the 515 institutional teams. Zelealem Yilma was individually cited in the MAA summary, ranking 467th among the 3733 contestants.

This document is available on the World Wide Web as